Monday, April 16, 2012

This Day in Pixar History: Pete Docter and the Tex Avery Award

2 years ago today, my favorite Pixar director Pete Docter was honored with the Tex Avery Animation Award at the Dallas International Film Festival. This annual award is given to an individual in honor of their lifetime achievement in animation filmmaking. The award is named after the legendary animator, writer and director Fred Avery, better known as Tex Avery. Avery's credits include Warner Brother's Merrie Melodies and Looney Tunes series. He created characters such as Daffy Duck, Porky the Pig and Elmer Fudd.

Previous recipients of the Tex Avery award include Brad Bird, Chris Wedge and Henry Selick. This years recipient is the amazing Disney animator Glen Keane (who recently announced his resignation).

I am really looking forward to Pete's next project, the Inside the Human Mind Project. How about you, which upcoming Pixar film are you most excited for?

No comments:

Post a Comment